Annual Research Conference

The SoCoBio DTP Annual Conference is a two-day event that provides the entire cohort of the South Coast Bioscience Doctoral Training Partnership (SoCoBio DTP) with opportunities to communicate their science, exchange research ideas, and share their training experience. In addition, there are networking opportunities with industry, guest lectures, discussion panels, a wellbeing workshop led by DTP Wellbeing Lead and student wellbeing champions.The conference is held at a different DTP partner each year so students also get an opportunity to visit partner institutions and tour their facilities.

We look forward to welcoming SoCoBio students, the DTP Leadership Team and our Guest Speakers to the 2024 SoCoBio DTP Annual Research Conference, hosted by the University of Kent. Please use the buttons on this page to download the Joining Instructions Pack to find all the relevant information you will need to plan your journey to the venue, view the event programme, and read the abstracts of the talks by SoCoBio students.

This year’s conference has a full programme of talks, 3-minute thesis style flash talks, posters, guest speakers (see below), and a wellbeing workshop on reflexivity. Prizes will be awarded for best year 4 student talk, best year 3 Poster and best year 2 3-minute thesis.

Day two, 18 April, is industry focused. Student talks and posters will be by CASE students, and there will be talks from industry and Q&A session, giving students and industry the opportunity to network and share their research interests and network (perhaps leading to future research collaborations), learn more about the programme, and find out other ways to engage with SoCoBio DTP.

You can also download the poster of the event here.

2023 Conference: Reflexivity activity, networking lunch, talks and group photo

2022 Conference: Posters & talks

Guest Speakers

Information coming soon

This year's organisation committee are:

From the DTP Leadership and SoCoBio supervisors: Jenny Tullet, Becky Hall, Mark Wass, Anastasios Tsaousis, Marina Ezcurra and Mark Shepherd (University of Kent), Rohan Lewis and Vincent O’Connor( University of Southampton), Eleftheria Stavridou (NIAB), Matt Guille (University of Portsmouth).

DTP Students: Oya Canik and Matt Shaw (University of Kent), Anastasia Kolesnikova, Muhammad Zalkifal and Jo Fish (University of Southampton).